Item not received - no tracking number

Hi, I bought a DVD more than two weeks ago which I still haven't received. I paid 3,40 for australia post parcel, without signature. The seller says since I only paid for standard delivery, they can't provide a tracking number. According to the seller, the DVD was sent right after I paid on April 1st. I am new to Australia and I don't have any experience with parcel post - is it true that a standard parcel does not include a tracking option? According to the Australia post website, it does.

Also when would it be reasonlable to recover the money via pay pal? The seller states that Australia post has been "absolutely disgraceful" recently and that it can take up to 14 working days for parcels to be received. Well that wasn't mentioned in the listing, and I wouldn't have bought the DVD had I known.

Message 1 of 39
Latest reply
38 REPLIES 38

Re: Item not received - no tracking number

Yes they can. yes they are.

If the parcel has a 'do not safe drop' sticker attached, they are supposed to take it back to the PO (which might not be the one closest to you), but that is not guaranteed.

Australia Post contractors, who deliver the vast bulk of parcels, are paid around $1 per delivery. they have an economic interest in spending the least amount of time possible in delivering individual items.

Work it out.

Message 21 of 39
Latest reply

My feeling, in your case, is that the seller marked the item as 'Sent' prematurely. They used the excuse of 'disgusting Australia Post' to buy some time. It is a pity that your seller is not telling you the actual day when they posted your item. Sometimes, in the case of DVD's, the item may not even be in stock, and your seller has waited for new stock to arrive first. If this was the case, they should have informed you but not everyone does, as they don't want the sale cancelled.