Advice for a newbie please

I am a relative newbie at selling on EBay.  I have started out just by listing stuff I or my kids don't want anymore. I have watched lots of YouTube videos about selling on Ebay. I have spent soooo much time on getting good photos with white backgrounds etc (the Ebay background remover isn't that helpful). I have tried to do SEO & done heaps of research for pricing my items. I have sold a couple of items over the last several months but most of my stuff isn't even getting any views. What am I doing wrong? 

With regards to white backgrounds, I have noticed a lot of product photos in Ebay stores don't use white backgrounds at all, so a bit confused about that advice.

Thanks in advance.

Message 1 of 42
Latest reply
41 REPLIES 41

Re: Advice for a newbie please

@geeky-meeks wrote:

Ok, so the dress you have quoted is a formal dress with lots of delicate diamonte beading on the bodice & sleeves which also adds a bit of bulk. It can't be folded up too small that easily without possibly wrecking the beading.  So that postage price includes all the packaging including bubble wrap etc to ensure it's safety in transit.  The box/satchel would have to be a least 50cm wide to allow for the bodice & sleeves not to be folded. 

I love the frock, it reminds me a bit of one I wore to my son's wedding, as in colour, size and beading. I agree that for that price, it needs to be extremely carefully boxed. I was glad to see you revised that listing to lower the price slightly and include postage as that will be big factor in someone's decision to buy or not.

I'm speaking as a buyer here, trying to help you out with the thought processes buyers may go through. Although I think the frock looks great, I would hesitate to buy for the simple reason I couldn't try it to see how the style looked on me and what the fit was like. Plus, if I had a problem with sizing, I could not return it.