Can I sell plants with soil?

I'm fairly new to selling on eBay and have sold a few of my personal stock to clear the place up a bit.

I have purchased various plants on eBay and they always come bare-rooted with no soil. But I notice some people say they sell plants with pots. There is no mention of whether they come with soil or not and I haven't actually bought any of these plants.

I'm in QLD and looking up the eBay seed and plant policy, it's a bit ambiguous.

Message 1 of 20
Latest reply
19 REPLIES 19

https://auspost.com.au/content/dam/auspost_corp/media/documents/dangerous-and-prohibited-goods-guide...

You need to check each destination.

In most cases Soil is not allowed, due to quarantine.  In some cases a permit is required.

You may also require a permit to post plant or nursery materials

Message 2 of 20
Latest reply

Ok, I didn't want to sell plants with soil but wondered how others are doing it if there appear to be qurantine restrictions. 

I'm selling Bromeliads and possibly some other tropical plants and looking on the QLD gov website I can't see any restrictions applied to the type I will be selling. It appears to be mainly fruit and veg. 

And on the Aus post link you sent, it says yes for foliage, which I assume they are, since the plant is just leaves. I might have to make some calls, as i don't see anything about it on the various sites I've searched.

Message 3 of 20
Latest reply

Perhaps they have permits in place, certified growers etc.

Perhaps they dont care or bother to make themselves aware of restrictions.  A Tasmanian woman is currently in gaol  (3 years I Think), for importing garlic bulbs.   Note she was a frequent offender and was well aware of her obligations.

Your plants could also come under  House /  Plants & Cuttings  or  Plant Nursery stock

Interestingly, from previous link      All cut flowers and foliage to  WA  is prohibited,   yet  Garden / House / Pot Plants can be sent if you have a permit.

Message 4 of 20