Contact after end of Auction - advice please!

Hi everyone, I need some advice.

I have been selling on ebay for around three months and this is a first for me so I need some advice from anyone that can offer some.

I have just had an item finish and sold today. Tonight I get a message from someone local (SA) who stated they had been wanting to bid but bad internet connection meant they missed out. Could they buy it from me at an increased price.

I contacted them back saying the item had sold and the winning bidder had already paid (that is not necessarily true but sounds "polite" I'm not saying they have or have not on this page).

Thought that would be the end of it and realise the policy for dealings outside of ebay.

But - here is where I need advice.

Ebayer sent another message stating they really needed the item and could I let the winning bidder know in the case the winning bidder may sell it on to them.  What do I do here?  Do I contact the winning bidder, do I ignore the last message.  I really would appreciate some comments regarding procedure and etiquette regarding situations such as these.  One last thing the ebayer has only less than 5 fb over last 2yrs.

Sorry its so long winded.

divinespice42

Message 1 of 8
Latest reply
7 REPLIES 7

Re: Contact after end of Auction - advice please!

Tell them you are sorry but you are obliged to sell it to the winning bidder and that is how it works.

Let her know if she wants to purchase any thing else to place her bid earlier to avoid missing other items.

So sad too bad really.

Message 2 of 8
Latest reply

If the winner wants to sell it again, they will list it. Don't get involved, maybe send them a message saying, sorry buyer not interested.

The etiquette is simple. The winner bought the item, the other missed out, they need to find another.

And if they ask again, I would ignore it, could be more trouble than it's worth.  😉

image host
Message 3 of 8
Latest reply