Postage Scales

cocokids
Community Member

I am a newbie to ebay and I am finding the amount of information totally overwhelming. I thought I would come online and buy some scales to weigh my items and have hit another brick wall as most of them have 2-5g increments. I have items that are very light (jewellery) and items up to 5-10kg.

Can anyone recommend a good pair of scales that can weigh from 0+ without increments so I know the EXACT weight.

Hope that made sense and thanks in advance for any information.

Message 1 of 14
Latest reply
13 REPLIES 13

Postage Scales

I would suggest buying separate scales for the light items. You would have a hard time finding scales that do both heavy items and very accurate lightweight items unless you pay big $$$

Message 2 of 14
Latest reply

Postage Scales

Jewellery scales weigh fractions of grams. Digital scales weigh from 1g

To work out postage, i find the digital scales are fine as anything heavier than 500g and thicker than 2cm goes as a parcel.

Digital scales can easily work out letter weights as well.

Message 3 of 14
Latest reply

Postage Scales

go-tazz
Community Member

I use a set of digital scales that I bought at a hardware store.

It goes up to 5 kg in 1 gram increments.

To weigh items heavier then 5 kg I put a 4.8kg item on the scales and tare it,(which puts the weight back to zero).

When you take the weight of it gives you a negative 4.8 kg reading.

I then put the item I need to weigh on it and add the 4.8 kg to the weight shown,(that gives me the total weight),good.gif

Message 4 of 14
Latest reply

Postage Scales

here first ones I looked at 1 gm increments up to 10 kg. so you obviosuly haven't looked that well

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/SALE-2-KITCHEN-SCALES-DIGITAL-SCALE-ELECTRONIC-FOOD-POSTAL-10KG-NEW-FREE-...

Message 5 of 14
Latest reply

Postage Scales