Postage help

I’m new to selling so please forgive me for silly questions!

Firstly, when you pay for shipping for an item, does this come out of your account or does it automatically get deducted from the funds received from the purchaser?

Secondly, I’m a little stuck with postage, I feel I have listed my items correctly with postage (I have chosen for buyer to pay shipping from eBay labels). However when I have purchased those labels they have been more expensive and there isn’t an option for anything cheaper? I think the two I did today were $3 more expensive each, which isn’t so bad however one of my items only sold for $5, so really I only made $2 on my the item. 
can anyone point me in the right direction for postage labels? 

Message 1 of 5
Latest reply
4 REPLIES 4

Postage help

I cant help with the ebay postage label thing as I dont use it, but another option worth looking at for items over 500 grams is the small paper based 261 x 369 Australia Post tough bags. ( Envelope type, not the plastic ones ) These can be purchased in boxes of 100 for around 35 cents each and postage ( not including envelope ) is capped at $9.30 up to 5 kg. Cheaper again if you have an AP postal account.

You need to ask AP counter staff to scan the barcode and remove the envelope from the computer system, before paying when you post these as the system has the single envelope price included in postage cost set as default . You can fit quite a bit in one of these and they are my main go to these days.

Message 2 of 5
Latest reply

Postage help

I don't use eBay labels, either, but if you are using calculated post, I strongly recommend flat rate at the size satchel you are using (assuming satchels), as that option doesn't require dimensions and, like the tough bags, is good for 5kg.

You will need to purchase the satchels, which are 15-35c each, depending on size and quantity.