Using HTML + CSS in a listing - getting format problems?

*note* I am not experienced with HTML and have only been teaching myself recently, so I may just be doing something wrong that's really easily fixed. I have looked for similar issues using Google and have not found anything.

For a while now I have been selling using the same listing format - just a basic title/description of item/some pictures type of thing. Recently, I have been learning HTML using Dreamweaver for other uses and thought I'd design a proper listing to attract more buyers. I finished the listing in Dreamweaver, looked at it in my browser - it looked fine - then added it to my existing listing. I copy/pasted the code and it looked fine in the auction editor. 

However, when I made the changes live, this happened: ebayissue1.png

and also the main listing description looked like this:

ebayissue2.png

Bizarrely, when I refreshed the page, the problems go away and the page looks exactly as I intended (except for Chrome Incognito window). This is the case in Chrome, Firefox, Safari and IE.

At first I thought the problem was to do with eBay picking up a:links and using the format for its own links, but I do not understand why the main listing would have problems as well.

Looking at this: 

ebayissue3.pngat this: 

It seems that I am accidentally doing this, but I don't know how to change the listing so it does not do this.

I would have posted this on a coding forum, but I think people on here would know better what I can do fix the listing.

Thanks for your help.

Message 1 of 35
Latest reply
34 REPLIES 34

Re: Using HTML + CSS in a listing - getting format problems?