Untracked international orders having payments put on hold

I ship low value trading cards internationally via untracked letter post. I have been doing this for 5 years now. With the changes to tracking and funds being put on hold, I made sure to update all my listings that ship internationally to have the "International Economy - Untracked" shipping option, which I was told, much like the Domestic Letter Untracked option, would not have my funds put on hold.

An international order I got today has it's funds on hold however, and it states that it will not be released until a tracking number is uploaded or until the max estimated shipping date is reached (almost 2 months from now). I contacted Ebay and was told by the Rep that this is normal for international orders, even if the "untracked" option is selected, and that there was nothing he could do to release the funds early unless  I contacted the buyer to verify they received the order, which I am not going to do for every single international order I get.

Is anyone else having this issue? Is there any hope for sellers who whip low value items (under $20) internationally and don't want to charge the value of the order for tracking? Or do I just have to stop selling internationally after doing so successfully for 5 years?

Message 1 of 6
Latest reply
5 REPLIES 5

Re: Untracked international orders having payments put on hold

Are you stating your services are untracked? Do you have HIGH item not received requests? Any Defects?

Message 2 of 6
Latest reply

Nope, rep specifically said that nothing about my account was the problem.

Message 3 of 6
Latest reply

I donโ€™t use untracked letter rate International postage very much โ€“ maybe a couple of times a month for low value post cards to UK and USA. I choose Standard International Flat Rate Postage and enter my own costing โ€“ I have never had payments put on hold, I posted one today as a matter of fact. Obviously there is no tracking number.

Message 4 of 6