Advice for a newbie please

I am a relative newbie at selling on EBay.  I have started out just by listing stuff I or my kids don't want anymore. I have watched lots of YouTube videos about selling on Ebay. I have spent soooo much time on getting good photos with white backgrounds etc (the Ebay background remover isn't that helpful). I have tried to do SEO & done heaps of research for pricing my items. I have sold a couple of items over the last several months but most of my stuff isn't even getting any views. What am I doing wrong? 

With regards to white backgrounds, I have noticed a lot of product photos in Ebay stores don't use white backgrounds at all, so a bit confused about that advice.

Thanks in advance.

Message 1 of 42
Latest reply
41 REPLIES 41

Re: Advice for a newbie please

Your photos are great, more than ebay acceptable! Unacceptable photos would come up blank

Message 11 of 42
Latest reply

My opinion only but here goes.

Postage charges are higher than they should be,   check them and make them realistic,  weigh you items, and use the Australia post calculator.   You can allow a little for packaging materials.

Some do give details on how they look as they are used,  others don't.

Prices seem very high to me for used items.

Message 12 of 42
Latest reply

I agree with Suga re pricing/postage costs.

As for pics -

• Photos need to be at least 500 pixels on the longest side but we recommend you aim for 800-1600 pixels on the longest side. Our photo uploader can take images up to 7MB in size

Adding pictures to your listings | eBay

Message 13 of 42
Latest reply

It might be new, but eBay used to REQUIRE at least 1600 pixels on the longest side. I'd aim for that - bandwidth is cheap these days.

The higher the resolution, the better the prospective buyer can decide what, if any, flaws are present.

Message 14 of 42
Latest reply

I'm a buyer these days.