eBay fees nearly 20% total

I have been selling on eBay for more than 12 years and this year is don’t make profit at all through eBay, because of covid the sale went down and their fees went up so much. As the don’t use PayPal they charge fees total to 20%. So we have to be aware of their fee before selling. Thinking that they are cheap things to buy on eBay, we cannot do it anymore . We have to sale extra 20% to cover the fee they charge. It’s ridiculous. I may think to quit eBay for good. Because you are working for them instead for your self. 

Message 1 of 47
Latest reply
46 REPLIES 46

Re: eBay fees nearly 20% total

Ebays fees are a doddle,  All included in my sales price so the buyer pays them for me.

The actual sale fee,  As Dave has said, is  13.4% +30c  without a store, and by having a store subscription this figure is reduced.

Now you can get creative with the figures, and  ADD a store subscription, Ebay promotion, multiple categories , ebay apps subscriptions etc, even postage labels via ebay, to totally distort the figures.

I could even offer ebay a 50% commission on promotion sales, and then whinge that I am paying  astronomical fees, but again, that would simply be a distortion and totally irrelevant , as are all optional extras.

Now the only thing that will altar the % of sales fee is the  30c Fixed Portion, this will distort the percentage on low value items,  And of course there are the higher rates that apply to sellers who fail to meet service metrics.

Last time I checked, My total fees, including store sub and additional promotion fees, was still under 14%

Message 21 of 47
Latest reply

And again for those who seem incapable of doing " simple maths " as dave calls it. .........Every single basic store that sells less than $300 per month ( and that could be quite a few judging by the number of sellers who have reported transaction declines of up to 60% recently ) will be paying over 20% basic fees to ebay without allowing for any add ons.