Am I being scammed? The seller deleted the account and tracking number was not detected in AP

danama-724
Community Member

Hi,

I am still new to eBay and have recently purchased sports equipment from <Removed>. I was quick to make the purchase and failed to realize that the account was just made and I was the only person to purchase that item. I paid by Paypal and the item was said to be shipped the next day by Australia Post (AP). I got a notification from eBay of the tracking number and estimated time of arrival, however the AP mobile application and website couldn't detect it. The seller acccount and item was removed from eBay the following day. 

I would like to ask anyone if they know what is happening and am I possibly getting scammed? Thank you all and have a good day!

Message 1 of 8
Latest reply
7 REPLIES 7

Am I being scammed? The seller deleted the account and tracking number was not detected in AP

Since you paid with Paypal you are covered by both eBay's MBG (money back guarantee) and Paypal's resolution centre, If the item doesn't arrive by the last ETA given by eBay then open a dispute with their MBG and you'll get your money back.

https://pages.ebay.com.au/ebay-money-back-guarantee/

"Start me up I'll never stop......"
Message 2 of 8
Latest reply

pedi's advice above is correct, but I'd suggest it's worth being a little proactive with this kind of situation and contacting eBay about it.

Get onto eBay's customer support chat via a computer, and ask them to refund the payment. They won't (unless you're very lucky) but will reassure you you're covered by eBay's MBG, and tell you to contact them again once the due date for the item has lapsed. Thank them and close the chat.

This will do a couple of things; firstly, you'll get an email of the chat transcript of an eBay CS rep promising you're covered - that's great, because you don't need to worry about being covered and will sleep soundly!