Am I paying in a reasonable timeframe?

I am new to ebay and have only bought a few items.  I am worried about if I am paying in a reasonable timeframe.  The sales I have won have closed for bids later in the evening, after I go to bed, and I do not get a chance to check until the next day after I finish work, at which time I pay straight away, so I have always paid within 24 hours.  The thing is, I have noticed on forums I have googled that sellers get irate if they don't get paid within 1-2 hours.  I want to do the right thing.. am I?

Message 1 of 11
Latest reply
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

*warm smile*

yes, you are paying within a reasonable time frame.

The warm smile was for being so concerned about the time frame in which you pay. If only all buyers were as conscientious as yourself. Lots are, I don't mean to diminish those, but it was nice to read about.

I understand how you feel, as I too like to pay instantly when I purchase something.

This is totally unnecessary, but if this does bother you, maybe a quick message to the seller when you place your bid saying, hello, I've just placed a bid, I'll be at work when the auction actually finishes, but should I win, I will pay as soon as I get to my PC after work.

The seller will appreciate it, and it will undoubtedly ease your concerns.

Happy eBaying.

Some people can go their whole lives and never really live for a single minute.

View solution in original post

Message 3 of 11
Latest reply
10 REPLIES 10

eBay give buyers 4 days to pay before a seller can open an UnPaid Item case, and then the seller has to wait 4 days before they can close the case, effectively giving the buyer 8 days before sanctions can be made against their account (non-payer strike).

I think that you should check each item description and see what the seller says in relation to when they would like to be paid.  When I sell, I ask that payment be made within 5 days.

If you are paying within 24 hours then you are fine.