backstamp i can't trace

have this lovely vase . i believe it was bought in 1934 in victoria at braithwaites chemist, shop 3, box hill.but cannot identify the backstamp. help please

rosie

17rosecottage

Message 1 of 11
Latest reply
10 REPLIES 10

backstamp i can't trace

A photo of both the vase and the backstamp would help us try to help you.

Message 2 of 11
Latest reply

backstamp i can't trace

thank you for your reply,

i was unable to attach a photo of the vase and the backstamp i could only load 1 photo. i will load a photo of the vase now.

regards

rosie

Message 3 of 11
Latest reply

backstamp i can't trace

I can have a guess at a date - 1890-1910 but really need that backstamp.

Message 4 of 11
Latest reply

backstamp i can't trace

HI,

HAVE HAD A PROBLEM GETTING THE PHOTO  OF THE BACKSTAMP WILL TRY HERE AGAIN

REGARDS

ROSIE

Message 5 of 11
Latest reply

backstamp i can't trace

Thanks for that. I will have a stab, though I am by no means an expert on Oriental pottery. I would say the backstamp is a very abbrevaited / stylised version of the Nippon backstamp (ie Japan).

Have a look at this page -

http://www.gotheborg.com/marks/20thcenturyjapan.shtml

under Nichi Hon (Nippon)

The style of the vase is commonly known as Kaga - this is fairly typical example but I am afraid that I would not know wheter it is really made in Japan or is a copy from say a Bohemian pottery. I would think it dates as I said from around 1900 to pre WW1.