Using free wifi at a cafe

A lovely cafe/bar  I often go to gave me their wifi pass word so I can take my laptop there.

This is probably an obvious question but I'd have to rely on my battery wouldn't I, which doesn't last long, or can you recharge

there.  I've never done this before  As I usually sit in the courtyard I doubt they would have power outlets.

If I got a dongle thing would that work for me?

Message 1 of 35
Latest reply
34 REPLIES 34

Yes to charge the battery you need to connect to a powerpoint.

Some cafes allow it.

A dongle is used to connect to the internet and like having your own account on it if you don't have wifi.

But does your laptop have wifi capabilities (wifi receiver built in) ?

In other words if you use wifi at home, you don't connect anything to the laptop which will mean you do have built in wifi in the laptop.

image host
Message 2 of 35
Latest reply

Yes Kopes it does have wifi.  So to go to the cafe I'd just take the lappy and the power cord      as they said I can hook into their free wifi. I amaze myself with my dumbness    🙂

Message 3 of 35
Latest reply

Too harsh on yourself, no such thing as a dumb question. Smiley Wink

(Unless of course I have already told you 3 times):smileylol:

And yes, just the lappy n powerchord.

image host
Message 4 of 35
Latest reply

Ah, but think of the service you have provided for all those readers who were too scared to ask that question, dumb or not.Smiley Wink

Message 5 of 35
Latest reply

Haha thanks Lyndal Smiley LOL

Message 6 of 35
Latest reply

Well now........  major fail.

i'm not due to the go to the cafe until prob tomorrow but today I took  my car into majpr service at Toyota who have free wifi so I thought i'd give that a go as i knew i'd have to wait for ages ......so with the help of the receptionist we plug the lappy into the power,  bring up their wifi details .......      and   bogger all,   I'm tiold there is a fault and can't be connected.

We try and try, but zilch.