Scammer, right?

A friend is selling his 60's valiant as a wrecker / spare parts and has had quite a bit of interest. Today on his mobile phone he gets a series of messages:

Let me know the best price you want for it and you can remove it from the listing as i really want it as urgent for my son.. I will wait for the total amount and your registered email with PayPal so i can pay in

My friend replied with a 'no thanks', and indicated tyhat he would prefer the auction ran it's course. He then got this series of texts:

Hello thanks for reply, i am a marine engineer, i am at sea right now. I am buying this for my son as a surprise gift. I can only pay through paypal at the moment as i don't have access to my bank account online(i dont have internet banking with it), but i have it attached to my paypal account, and this is why i insisted on using paypal to pay,all i will need is your paypal email address to make the payment, and if you dont have a paypal account yet, you can set one it cant take you less than 3mins to do that, i will be expecting your paypal email so l can pay. I have a pick up agent that will come for the pick up after payment has been sorted, l will be waiting for your reply asap.

So tell me, why would a scammer express an interest in a derelict car?

BTW, I have told my friend to cease all communications with this person immediately.

Message 1 of 7
Latest reply
6 REPLIES 6

Scammer, right?

Correct, SCAM.

They prob have enough info from your ebay listing to marry up with your PayPal details (if they get them) to attempt an automated computer password hack.

Or they may send some PayPal looking correspondence so you log in via a link and turns out to be a key logger. (Gets your passwords)

Also if you know their ebay ID add them to your blocked bidders list so they can't make purchases or bids.

image host
Message 2 of 7
Latest reply

Scammer, right?