Shipping for new seller clarification

Hello, I am new to selling on eBay and just sold my first item yesterday! (a pair of shoes). I did my research on postage prior but when it came to actually doing it I was still inexperienced and messed up a little. I printed the label off eBay, bubble wrapped my shoes and went into Auspost thinking I could get a large satchel off the shelf. But I realised that the in store satchels comes with postage. So I ended up having to buy a box instead which i had to fork out a little more from what the buyer paid. But it was alright as its a learning curve. So my question to this is : 

1. If I dont have the prepaid satchels with me, its best to go to Auspost and just get their satchels+postage and I have to manually fill in the details and then tracking number in eBay?

Is there any tips from experienced sellers regarding shipping? 

Thanks, stay safe and have a good day!

Message 1 of 5
Latest reply
4 REPLIES 4

You can purchase eBay or AP satchels from the Australia Post eBay store in 10 packs for $2.50 (small and medium). You then create and pay for a label and attach it to the satchel.

I wouldn't use prepaid satchels. Unless you buy in bulk, they are pretty much the most expensive option available.

If you are going to be a regular seller, you might want to look into MyPost Business. 8 parcels over a rolling 8 week period will give you cheaper prices than eBay labels.

Message 2 of 5
Latest reply

go-tazz
Community Member

@deli-3846 wrote:

1. If I dont have the prepaid satchels with me, its best to go to Auspost and just get their satchels+postage and I have to manually fill in the details and then tracking number in eBay?

I generally have a satchel on hand and get another if I use this one and the pricing works out the same as

using eBay labels as I live in the country and would always be charged eBay's highest zone postage rate

which then makes it the same price all up as AP postage.