Negative Feedback without any contact from buyer

I recently sold 2 biscuit barrels to one Buyer. I always pack very securely, as many Buyers have mentioned in my Feedback, but apparently one biscuit barrel was broken on arrival? The Buyer made no contact whatsoever, and after 2 weeks, I foolishly left Positive Feedback. After which time, the Buyer promptly left Negative Feedback, saying simply "arrived broken". I have sent several e-mails, even offering to refund if she provides a photo of the broken biscuit barrel (How do I know the item wasn't broken on opening of the parcel?). I have heard nothing from the Buyer! Why are Buyers allowed to leave Negative Feedback without even making an attempt to resolve the issue. I have been buying and selling on e-bay for almost 8 years now, and never received Negative Feedback. This has ruined my percentage, and through no fault of my own.

Message 1 of 6
Latest reply
5 REPLIES 5

@decodetails wrote:

Why are Buyers allowed to leave Negative Feedback without even making an attempt to resolve the issue. 

I can't answer that, but I wish they couldn't...or at least wouldn't.  

I suspect it wouldn't qualify for removal under any of eBay's feedback policies, so if the buyer is unresponsive to your attempts to resolve (which presumably also means sending a request to revise the feedback won't help), the only thing you can really do is respond to the feedback - keep it simple, truthful, calm (no capitals etc) and professional, as what you write is a reflection on you as a seller and the response isn't really for the buyer, it's for everyone else who will read your FB profile, including prospective buyers. 

Message 2 of 6
Latest reply