Global Shipping Program from the US.

I wish to make an offer on (or otherwise purchase) an item from the US. It is a delicate item (a bar mirror) and I asked the seller what care would be taken in packaging and delivery to Australia. They replied 'this is not our responsibility and you will have to ask this of the GSP' (PB) whose job it is deal with that side of the transaction. I haven't been able to contact the right people and was wondering what experience other buyers have of getting delicate goods (such as framed bar mirrors) shipped from the US, or whether I am just being too hopeful to expect that such an item might be freighted to Oz without damage or breakage? My only other alternative may be to contact a company like MyUS (as suggested by another buyer) and hope that they could package and deliver the item safely, however I have no experience at getting around the GSP and the seller wont budge from using the GSP. My only other GSP experience resulted in no item, no ability to pay due to an incomplete invoice and the seller lodging negative buyer remark about me to ebay as a result. I had to go through ebay Aust with screen dumps etc. to resolve the situation. I am soooo wary of dealing with the US by this method, however I would dearly like to purchase the item. Can anyone suggest other solutions. Thanks
Message 1 of 19
Latest reply
18 REPLIES 18

Re: Global Shipping Program from the US.

IF you provide a US shipping address, the GSP doesn't come into it

Message 2 of 19
Latest reply

Just take the risk I am sure everything will be satisfactory. I have had a lot of items posted from the US without a problem. Good luck.
Message 3 of 19
Latest reply

But have you had anything breakable like a mirror sent through the GSP Michelle?

There have been reports on the boards of Pitney Bowes just putting china and glassware into a box with minimal packaging and the items arrive broken.

The OP has good reason to be worried.

Message 4 of 19
Latest reply