Postage fee is free for most area except remote or offshore area.

dioau69
Community Member

I'm relatively new to Ebay. I purchased an item for $378.90. The seller listed the item as free postage and in their Delivery information tab within item description state 'Postage fee is free for most area except remote or offshore area.' I live in remote NT, so entered my postcode in the 'postage and payment' tab and hit the 'get rates' button. Postage remained as free, so I went ahead with the purchase. Now the seller is telling me that they are very sorry, but they didn't realise the postage to my area is $300. No solution has been offered (refund, part payment of freight etc) they have just said they are sorry. What should and can I do?

Message 1 of 21
Latest reply
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

So you are in the Tiwi Islands & they will not send to Darwin if I'm reading all correctly? You need to ask your seller to cancel the purchase & refund your money ASAP as your first option.

It is clear that this transaction would or could be problemmatic should it go ahead any further.

Other than that you can open a dispute for return of your funds. Once a dispute is opened; Please do not close it until you have your money back. I cannot stress this enough; As once a dispute is closed it cannot be reopened & your money may be lost to you.

Please double check my info with regards to disputes, as I'm not sure whetther the ebay or Paypal dispute shows first on your list of dispute options. Perhaps some other kind helper here can assist you further? 

Anyone here to help further please? I still don't know the nature of the purchase; But most probably over the 5kg satchel which doesn't incur boat costs when I send things to my friends.

View solution in original post

Message 14 of 21
Latest reply
20 REPLIES 20

You/seller can cancel purchase
Message 2 of 21
Latest reply

Just ask for a refund.