Postage fee is free for most area except remote or offshore area.

dioau69
Community Member

I'm relatively new to Ebay. I purchased an item for $378.90. The seller listed the item as free postage and in their Delivery information tab within item description state 'Postage fee is free for most area except remote or offshore area.' I live in remote NT, so entered my postcode in the 'postage and payment' tab and hit the 'get rates' button. Postage remained as free, so I went ahead with the purchase. Now the seller is telling me that they are very sorry, but they didn't realise the postage to my area is $300. No solution has been offered (refund, part payment of freight etc) they have just said they are sorry. What should and can I do?

Message 1 of 21
Latest reply
20 REPLIES 20

Re: Postage fee is free for most area except remote or offshore area.

@dioau69 wrote:

You are right about barge. Everything goes to Dawin and then we receive a barge service each week. Yesterday I asked the seller for suggestions for a resolution but have not received a reply over a day later. 

Today I have asked for the purchase to be sent to an address in Darwin. I don't believe that Darwin could be considered remote. From there I will arange for the freight to here - which I know I will be charged $55 for the barge service. 

Thank you all for your responses. Hopefully I will not have to come back and ask how to take the matter further

That is certainly a huge saving in postage costs if it can be arranged.

There may be some sellers though who will not be prepared to send it to any address other than your ebay/paypal address as they leave themselves open to claims if they do.

No harm in having asked though, & see what he says.

If you continue to get no reply of any kind though, and no refund, within a reasonable time, you will have the option to open an item not received case & you will be able to get your money back.

Message 11 of 21
Latest reply