Advice for a newbie please

I am a relative newbie at selling on EBay.  I have started out just by listing stuff I or my kids don't want anymore. I have watched lots of YouTube videos about selling on Ebay. I have spent soooo much time on getting good photos with white backgrounds etc (the Ebay background remover isn't that helpful). I have tried to do SEO & done heaps of research for pricing my items. I have sold a couple of items over the last several months but most of my stuff isn't even getting any views. What am I doing wrong? 

With regards to white backgrounds, I have noticed a lot of product photos in Ebay stores don't use white backgrounds at all, so a bit confused about that advice.

Thanks in advance.

Message 1 of 42
Latest reply
41 REPLIES 41

Re: Advice for a newbie please

I am going through my pricing now & doing adjustments. I have changed the spoon postage to $3 except one spoon where the box (when bubble wrapped) is over 2cm for prepaid envelopes.

I was referring to myself as a perfectionist when it comes to the time it takes me taking photos, doing the listing etc, not my pricing.

Message 21 of 42
Latest reply

I am almost solely a seller on eBay these days, so shouldn’t really comment from the point of view of a buyer. So feel free to completely disregard this post. It would seem to me that most of your items are in the pre-owned Clothing and Shoes category, which surely must be one of the most crowded categories on eBay. I mean there are 162,000 +  items for sale on eBay with “Dress size 12” in the title. The mind boggles. I am sure people do sell in these categories, and sell well, but it is a very hard market to start in.