I'm 100% sure this is a scam, but need a little help...

Ok, I'm fairly new to Ebay and atm I am selling a few collectibles. I was contacted through e-mail saying that he will take my best price. I replyed with my best price and he says: 

"Okay,thanks for your response i will purchase it for $499 including paypal charges and my pickup agent will be coming down to your address once the payment is done so send me your paypal email address as soon as possible... "

"Best Regards,,,,,"

Keep in my mind my best price was $330 and defintiley not $500. "pickup agent" sounds like a load of bs.

This is defintinely a scam but can someone explain what method/way he was attempting to scam me?
Message 1 of 8
Latest reply
7 REPLIES 7

go-tazz
Community Member

@mastercheif8586wrote:

Ok, I'm fairly new to Ebay and atm I am selling a few collectibles. I was contacted through e-mail saying that he will take my best price. I replyed with my best price and he says: 

"Okay,thanks for your response i will purchase it for $499 including paypal charges and my pickup agent will be coming down to your address once the payment is done so send me your paypal email address as soon as possible... "

"Best Regards,,,,,"

Keep in my mind my best price was $330 and defintiley not $500. "pickup agent" sounds like a load of bs.

This is defintinely a scam but can someone explain what method/way he was attempting to scam me?

Total scam and by "paying" a higher price for the item they are relying on greed by the seller to get the item.

Once "payment" is made they more then likely want it sent as their pickup agent can't get there.

The payment will either be made with a stolen credit card a hijacked Paypal account or you'll receive an Email

after they've received you Paypal details,(which off course contains your Email address).

The Email will state that payment has been made and you can now forward it,(or something similar).