Item not received dispute

Hi guys, just wondering where I stand with this.

I posted an item to a buyer in Canada on April 26. He has today lodged an item not received dispute and asked for a refund. The item was $199 Australian plus postage.
Postage to Canada is very expensive so I sent it economy mail. There is an article ID but it's not really a tracking number as far as I know. Tracking and registered was going to cost nearly $100, far more than he paid.
Aussie Post said it would only take a week or so to arrive. I've asked him to wait one more week, which will take it out to 4 weeks since I posted it.

Any idea of where I stand on this?

I've been selling on ebay for over 10 years and have more than 500 positive feedbacks.

I'm really annoyed by this.

PayPal have also put my account into the negative as they await an outcome.

Scott

Message 1 of 27
Latest reply
26 REPLIES 26

Canadian post can take 4-6 weeks.

I had an item take 2 months because it was held up in Canadian customs.

It's not unusual for Canada, they are very strict.

image host
Message 2 of 27
Latest reply

That gives me hope that maybe it's still getting there, I think three weeks is still within a reasonable time frame. He didn't bother contacting me direct about it, just lodged a dispute and refund request. I would have waited at least a month.
Australia Post's estimate of just over a week seemed a bit ambitious but I can imagine maybe it's tied up in the Canadian postal system.
Trouble is if it's tied up there for another month, I assume eBay will just order a refund in the meantime.

Message 3 of 27
Latest reply

when i select economy air for parcels from australia -> canada via the aus post website it says 11+ business days - which would be over two weeks including weekends + any customs delays. i assume it was a parcel?

Message 4 of 27
Latest reply

Assume it is the Camaro.

String out the case as long as you can and don't ask eBay to step in no matter what info you can provide.