New to Ebay

bella-booteek
Community Member

Hi

Im new to ebay and would like to know why do people just watch your products and not just buy

Message 1 of 14
Latest reply
13 REPLIES 13

New to Ebay

There can be alot of reasons. Sometimes it's other sellers who have a similar product and want to scope out the sale price for when they sell it.

Other times it's people who may want to buy but are hesitant or waiting until the last minute. It also may be people who like the items and want to come back to them at a later date, so they add it to their Watch List instead of having to remember it in their head.

Message 2 of 14
Latest reply

New to Ebay

One very good reason is if you are browsing and see something you fancy or might buy at some stage it is important to put it on your watch list so you can find it again.

Some people like to compare prices and quality of similar items so might watch as many as they can find until they make up their mind.

A competitor may watch your item to see if it sells and the price range.

Having a number of watchers is a positive sign even if it does not translate to immediate sales.

Message 3 of 14
Latest reply

New to Ebay

Watching is primarily a tool for buyers, and doesn't really have a bearing on sales - at best you can use it as a very rough guide as to how much interest there is in an item, but the nature of that interest can vary greatly and remains undisclosed.

There are a lot of different reasons people put things on their watch list. At this point in time, I have a few hundred items over about half a dozen different lists (each able to contain up to 200 items), that I'm watching. The reasons I watch Buy It Now listings include (but are not limited to):

• I want to buy it, but not just yet for one reason or another, so I watch it for easy access (like a bookmark) when I do purchase

• I have bought it, and plan to continue buying it from a particular seller, so watch it for the same reason as above (easy access).