Item being held

I have at present an item being held at Global Shipping Centrein UK as it is a prohibited substance((anti-bacterial powder). Will they send it back to seller possibly and am I entitled to refund in this instance?
Message 1 of 47
Latest reply
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Item being held

Hi Michelle,  

Who said the item is prohibited? If it was Australian Customs and Quarantine then you have made the error and unfortunately have lost on this sale. As others have said it is the buyer's responsibility to know about their local laws.

If it was the GSP arbitrarily putting it on their banned list contrary to Quarantine information then something else might come into play. Alas I have no experience with the GSP. I suggest looking on the Australian Quarantine website to try to find information about your product. If you are unsure then email Customs and Quarantine to ask them if you are eligible to import the item. They will tell you yes or no. They may also give advice on how to apply for eligility (often a lengthy and costly procedure. )

Parting advice: always, always, every time and without fail research your product for import restrictions BEFORE YOU BID OR BUY no matter who you are buying from or what delivery method they offer AND even if you have purchased before. Rules can and do change frequently.  You will save yourself a lot of time, money and anxiety doing the research first.

Best wishes!

View solution in original post

Message 15 of 47
Latest reply
46 REPLIES 46

Item being held

lyndal1838
Honored Contributor

No and No.

If the GSP refuses to send a prohibited item then it is usually destroyed.....just like it would be destroyed by Customs if it did get here.

You could try asking for a refund but from what I have heard you will have a very hard job getting one.

Message 2 of 47
Latest reply

Item being held