Seller needs my phone # and wants me to send it to them by message??

terpar01
Community Member

I have purchased many items on eBay and for the very first time ever a seller messaged me today and asked me to give them my phone# so they can ship out my item. My phone # is listed with my address on my acct payment info so why do I need to give this seller my phone # by message? No seller has ever asked me for my phone # before and I have been making purchases on eBay for many years. Does anyone know why & if I should message this seller my phone #?? Thanks

Message 1 of 9
Latest reply
8 REPLIES 8

Re: Seller needs my phone # and wants me to send it to them by message??

A lot of couriers require a phone number of the recipient, so yes it's a valid request by the seller, also they may not be able to see your phone number in their postage details for some reason.

"Start me up I'll never stop......"
Message 2 of 9
Latest reply

Exactly what I need to know. Thank you for the info.

Message 3 of 9
Latest reply

No worries, glad to help you.

"Start me up I'll never stop......"
Message 4 of 9
Latest reply

I've had sellers ask me for my phone number for the same reason, and I've politely explained my number is not needed for a delivery to be made, and I wouldn't be providing it. I'm yet to have someone insist.

NEVERMIND ON TROUBLES!!! LET'S DO HOBBY!!!
Message 5 of 9
Latest reply

I have found some courier services will not allow you to book without a phone number for the recipient. I suppose any would do as long as they did not need to use it if a problem with delivery occured.

Message 6 of 9
Latest reply