Bye bye Tony, Tony goodbye

martinw-48
Community Member
Woo Hoo
Message 1 of 60
Latest reply
59 REPLIES 59

Re: Bye bye Tony, Tony goodbye

I'm feeling a bit left out. It sounds like I'm about the only one on these boards who has never, ever, been polled about voting.Smiley Indifferent

But I do remember way back in the dim, dark ages when I was a student at uni, we covered, as part of a course, how to conduct a questionnaire and factors that can swing results. We in fact had to try to see if we could swing the majority of answers to a random side.Smiley Happy It was some sort of innocuous set of questions.

I never really believed though that anyone conducting a questionnaire would fall into such obvious traps to be less than impartial till one day I had a random phone call to question me about my public transport habits. The survey lasted about 10-15 minutes and the woman actually made comments about my answers. To a question about the usual station I would use to start my journey, I answered Sandown Park (which has a massive free car parking area opposite, and which is always pretty well filled to capacity every week day). She informed me that no one else she had questioned ever said that station and was I sure it would be the most likely one?

So these surveys obviously miss whole swathes of people. And the interviewer could be a problem, depends on how they conduct it. I would imagine it might  even be more so if the person being questioned can see the person conducting the poll as we judge a lot on appearances.

I've seen a couple of written articles by Peta Credlin. Not that i follow her at all but the articles I saw at the time (and I can't remember what they were about now as it was a while back), I do recall thinking she made a few good points. I think one may have been about jail sentencing or laws.

Message 51 of 60
Latest reply

download.jpg

Message 52 of 60
Latest reply

I have already stated that I had done a numbe of online polls