Opening computer tower - what is the legal situation ?

Just wondering the legalities of opening a computer tower case to say execute internal device upgrade , keeping in mind the computer is 240v mains powered , and so has the appearance of being illegal for a non- a grade electrician to work on.

In other words is a desktop computer classified legally as a mains power device or low voltage or are there sub-sections of law that allow opening the case ?  

Is it legal for a non-a grade electricion to open the case for maintenance and upgrade tasks ?

No opinions please just legal regs , legal considerations valid in Victoria , Australia , by those familiar with the design of computers.

My problem in VIC is the consideration by non and vested interests that it is illegal for a non- "a grade" electrician to open a computer case - so has become a problem for me  in developing a niche computer related service, as I am not a sparkie by trade

Message 1 of 14
Latest reply
13 REPLIES 13

Thx , interesting link relating to workplace safety testing of mains power devices - but the question still remains : Is it legal within the State of Victioria ( Australia ) for a non a-grade Electrician to open the case of an operational computer ? 

A-grade Electricians are qualified to work on mains power devices and systems such as houses and washing machines etc whereby there is exposed mains power wiring and components.   

Message 3 of 14
Latest reply

Unplug it out of the wall and there you go. No mains power so joe blow from the back of Timbuctoo can open it and play around. Just dont forget static discharge can destroy chips.

Message 4 of 14
Latest reply

bs al 6160 , Most computer shop operatives "open it and play around" with computers - I am asking about the common law legalities of doing so

http://nextup.com

Message 5 of 14
Latest reply

I've known a few people that have had computer shops and as long they didn't touch/change the power supply