Advice for a newbie please

I am a relative newbie at selling on EBay.  I have started out just by listing stuff I or my kids don't want anymore. I have watched lots of YouTube videos about selling on Ebay. I have spent soooo much time on getting good photos with white backgrounds etc (the Ebay background remover isn't that helpful). I have tried to do SEO & done heaps of research for pricing my items. I have sold a couple of items over the last several months but most of my stuff isn't even getting any views. What am I doing wrong? 

With regards to white backgrounds, I have noticed a lot of product photos in Ebay stores don't use white backgrounds at all, so a bit confused about that advice.

Thanks in advance.

Message 1 of 42
Latest reply
41 REPLIES 41

Re: Advice for a newbie please

@springyzone wrote:

@sugar249 wrote:

@springyzone wrote:

This is from a different thread but I just saw it and feel it may be relevant to you.

I'm still keeping one store stocked up pretty well and ticking over. What I have noticed is that ebay is really hitting accounts that dont have a lot of activity. ( more than in the past ) If you are not constantly listing, revising and selling, your items drop completely from searches pretty quickly at the moment. 

The economy is definately affecting sales, but there is still buyers out there for the right stuff.

Really you are quoting an unattributed source,  for information they have put on a forum,  thats really not a valid comment.

True, it is from a forum member and is anecdotal. But it is from a fairly long term, big seller so at least worth considering.

Most comments on this forum are personal opinions or about personal experiences. Most could not quote the exact research figures overall.

For example, curraone wrote about postage costs:

I know you're allowed to add a little extra for packing etc, but in my experience buyers get quite narky if too much is added on.  

That's anecdotal too but I'd say it is spot on.