Asked buyer to cancel transaction, no response then they paid - help!!

Hi Everyone, 

I am relatively new to eBay and need some help please!! 

I sold an item on Sunday 23rd and directly following the auction ending (and someone being a successful bidder), I changed my mind about selling.  I sent the buyer a message explaining my reasons for wanting to cancel the transaction and not go ahead with the sale. Was very honest, explained that I am new to eBay and had never had a "change of mind" before. I also apologied for the inconvenince. I then lodged a request to cancel the transaction. 

Today is Wed 26th, I have had no resonse to my message and no response to the cancel transaction request (ie. the case is still open).  The buyer had just completed check out and paid for the item. 

How was the buyer able to do this when I requested to cancel the transaction? 

What do I do now? Do I simply refund her money, message again or wait until the 7 day period for the "cancel transaction case" when I can then cancel it myself and then refund her money? 

Please help!! 

Thanks in advance. 

Message 1 of 10
Latest reply
9 REPLIES 9

Re: Asked buyer to cancel transaction, no response then they paid - help!!

You sold an item and they paid so you should now send it too them.

It does not matter that you sent a request to cancel as they do not want to cancel so have no reason to agree too it.

They have paid so you should send the item and if not then refund them and cop the neg they have every right to leave.

If your change of mind is because the price was not enough for you then sorry but tough luck as you should never list an item for less than you would be happy to sell for..

Message 2 of 10
Latest reply

tstore
Community Member
As Sparks mentioned

You can send a cancel request but if the buyer does not want to agree with it they do not have to accept it. You sold an item, now you need to send it. Otherwise refund their money and receive the negative feedback.