Buyer decided she bought the "wrong" edition and wants a return?

I put a textbook for sale and not only did the buyer create a hassle with wanting to cancel the order then decided to actually go ahead with the order soon after, but a few days later she now tells me she bought the wrong edition and wants a refund.

Here's the thing...

I had "no refunds" on the listing of the product, and this is my first time selling so I have no idea what to do.

She's offered to post the item back and I refund her.

But is it not her fault?

What do I do?

Message 1 of 13
Latest reply
12 REPLIES 12

Re: Buyer decided she bought the "wrong" edition and wants a return?

Just wondering if you put the Edition number in the listing? If not, then the buyer should have asked if it was important to them.

I have sold Uni textbooks for my family, and I always put the Edition number in the listing, as most buyers want the latest edition. Although some will go for older editions if the price is low.

No refunds is allowed to be stated in listings - for change of mind/buyers remorse reasons. There is blurb that comes up in that section that states buyers still have statutory rights (or something along those lines)...which covers faulty goods.

Message 11 of 13
Latest reply

@harley_babes_hoard wrote:

i think ebay would only have to look at the messages to see this is a buyer who has changed her mind whther a dot was left or not and it ruined feedback, starting a new ID is no biggie.

It is now if it is to be used for selling. Low limit for no of items listed  for the month, money held for 21 days by paypal etc.

Limits not likely to be lifted in a hurry either if eBay check and see seller had a poor record on an existing selling ID.

Message 12 of 13
Latest reply