Buyer decided she bought the "wrong" edition and wants a return?

I put a textbook for sale and not only did the buyer create a hassle with wanting to cancel the order then decided to actually go ahead with the order soon after, but a few days later she now tells me she bought the wrong edition and wants a refund.

Here's the thing...

I had "no refunds" on the listing of the product, and this is my first time selling so I have no idea what to do.

She's offered to post the item back and I refund her.

But is it not her fault?

What do I do?

Message 1 of 13
Latest reply
12 REPLIES 12

ckaus, With things the way they stand at the moment, you have to refund her the money. No Returns is not allowed. She seems to know how to use the system. When she  was wanting the cancel the transaction, you shoild have made her say Buyer has changed her mind. All would have been sorted then. The process would have gone through and you would have got you fees etc. As things stand now, she has the trump card. You have to refund her back the money, or she will turn on you like a Viper and leave you a Negative.  Play by her rules and all should hopefully end up Ok. Make sure the Book is in the same condition as you sent it etc. Keep all messages, so if things yurn muddy, you can let ebay sort it out. Be polite and hope for the best. Once all this has happened, whack her on you BBL.  She sound lovely, NOT !! hope all goes well

Message 2 of 13
Latest reply

Well I see it as a change of mind. Under that condition you are not obliged to accept a return.

But of course if you don't then you run the risk of a cranky seller who might leave you a big red dot for your troubles and of course with that comes a defect.

If she has offered to post it back (at her cost) then I would probably go with that and refund when you get it back in the same condition as you sent it.