How long should I wait for payment?

pblong2810
Community Member

Hi, I'm new to ebay and I sold my first Item Tuesday night! I'm still waiting for the buyer to pay. How long should I wait before giving bad feedback etc? I have sent him 3 invoices with no reply or anything? Just wondering what I should do?

Message 1 of 21
Latest reply
20 REPLIES 20

Hello,

It's a bit daunting selling at first, but it will get easier. It's not all as quick as you might think and certainly all buyers/sellers work differently.

Have you set your expectations in your listing? Eg. Please contact me via ebay within 24hrs/3 business days etc etc. It helps to read a lot of other people's descriptions so you can get ideas for what to write in yours. I think if people know up front what to expect they are more likely to comply. At the very least when you send your invoice you can remind them in the Comments box that you did say in your listing to pay/contact or both within a certain time frame.

I can understand you would like to finalise the listing asap (I know I usually do, unless I am super busy and can't get to my ebay listings often) but give your buyer a little more time and certainly don't write bad feedback lightly. Trust me, there are worse things than slow payers, so save your bad feedback for those folks (and even then, think it through so so carefully).

All the best.

Message 2 of 21
Latest reply

Hello, firstly, welcome to eBay selling and I hope that you have an incredible journey.

OK, Down to business, as a seller, you cannot leave bad feedback, even if they are the most horrible buyers in the world. Additionally, leaving a negative comment with a positive dot, will likely see the comment removed and you to receive a reprimand.

In theiry, you can allow a buyer as long as you like to make payment, however eBay Australia allows a buyer a minimum of 8 days. Let me expand a little there.