How to use Australia Post post for items more than 20mm thickness

I have seen many Australian sellers listed items which have thickness more than 20mm for prices around $5. How do they do this?

As I know, if the item thickness pass 20mm goes into parcel post which cost $8.95? How do they trick the system?

I also want to point out two buying experience I had.

1) Once I bought over 20mm thick Envelope pack via $5.35 Australia post large prepaid envelope. But for the item, I paid only $4.9 !! The seller seems to do a lot of sales, so cannot be just selling for loss trying to impress the buyers. The sale is not possible unless they print their own fake prepaid envelops...

2) Bought an item which weight around than 150g (over 125g limit) with $2 stamp. Thickness was also a little bit over 20mm. Does Australia Post allow this kind of deviations on $2 stamp post?

Kind advises from experienced members are highly appreciated as I'm still new to this business Smiley Happy

Message 1 of 24
Latest reply
23 REPLIES 23

Re: How to use Australia Post post for items more than 20mm thickness

1. Yes, the Chinese have been stealing printing envelopes for a while.

2. If it's only slightly over it often gets through, and so it should. My post office will let things go if it's close to limits.

image host
Message 2 of 24
Latest reply

I can send a standard, up to 20mm thick, book for $2.30 using prepaid envelopes. They are good for 500g and buying them in 50s gets that price. Admittedly very few books that thick mass over 250g, so the saving isn't huge.

That 5% discount is all Australia Post gives for bulk purchases these days. Even prepaid satchels, which they used to give a 10%  discount for if you bought 100.

For parcels, volume discounts apply through MyPost Business if you have the volume.