NSW proof of age card for managed payments

lynda_g
Community Member

Has anyone had any success getting ebay to accept the NSW proof of age card as a valid form of ID for the new managed payments system? If so how did you go about this? I have had the restriction put on my account due to not providing a valid ID. However the fact that they list "other form of Govt issued ID" as an option for proving identity on their site would make me think that legally they would have to accept this ID. I have emailed ebay but so far they wont budge. I find the fact they had my ID to validate weeks before I sold anything, and they let me list items unacceptable. They waited until an item sold and after the buyer paid within 20 seconds they restricted my account and are now holding my money. Any smilar experiences? Thanks for any help!!!!

Message 1 of 29
Latest reply
28 REPLIES 28

lyndal1838
Honored Contributor

I have had no experience of ebay accepting or not accepting the NSW proof of age card but I do know that it is the most useless bit of plastic I have in my wallet.....I have not found any authorities that will accept it!

Message 2 of 29
Latest reply

I used my photo ID issued from the RTA.

So far, so good... it was accepted about 4 weeks ag and no issues with it.

All institutuins (eg banks) use it a legal proof of ID.

Message 3 of 29
Latest reply

If you have one, try a passport. 

Message 4 of 29
Latest reply

yes I think legally they have to but they have stated to me that they will only accept passport or licence. Their solution was for me to get licence or passport. I only sell a few items a month so its not worth my while to pay for a passport just to sell on ebay. I have contacted fair trading about the issue and await their response. If they list "other form of Govt issued photo ID as valid then they must accept it I believe. My proof of age card was accepted for weeks and they only blocked my account once I received a payment which is pretty sneaky