Payment not recognised dispute

I sold my laptop, communicated with buyer, payment received and posted out with tracking number. Couple of days later buyer opened a payment not recognised dispute, buyer refused to reply to my emails and now ebay have witheld my money. eBay is not sure how long will it takes to close the dispute because they have to wait for the 3rd party bank to investigate. I am new to this dispute, how long does this dispute takes and any advice to expedite it (I really want my money or laptop back)? Thank you.

Message 1 of 14
Latest reply
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Stop communicating with the buyer.

I had a charge back case recently and the buyer swore that they had not opened it - if that's the case I think sometimes the banks pick up a transaction and query it.

Anyway, I made sure the tracking number was in the case/dispute and just left it.

It was supposed to take 5 days, but ended up taking about 3 weeks and was closed in my favour.

View solution in original post

Message 5 of 14
Latest reply
13 REPLIES 13

As long as the item was sent with tracking, and eBay have all the relevant info they need that shows the package was delivered (with SOD if the amount - including postage - was $750 or more) You should qualify for protection in this case and the funds eventually released - unfortunately I don't know how long this takes with eBay (I'm assuming you're on managed payments, hence their involvement).

This is what's listed on their info page for such disputes, and what's required to qualify for protection:

When a buyer reports that they don't recognise the transaction:

You provided proof of delivery that included all of the following:

Tracking number provided by the carrier company (uploaded by the date indicated in the payment dispute notification);
A delivery status of "delivered";
Date of delivery;