Pros and Cons of changing user ID

I would be interested in people's opinion on changing my seller ID to be the same as my store name and to better reflect my brand.  I set the ID about 10 years ago when I was just selling personal items, but now have an established brand and business.

Are there any negatives if I change my username?

Message 1 of 14
Latest reply
13 REPLIES 13

I don't think you can have the same name on 2 different accounts (someone will correct me if I'm wrong).

Try changing it to your store name and I think it will come up as  ' name not available ' or 'name in use' or something like that.

Message 2 of 14
Latest reply

I've been contemplating the same thing for a few months, for exactly the same reasons. My user ID on my store account is a little more... abstract, I guess Smiley Very Happy So doesn't resemble much at all except some song lyrics I really liked at the time I joined. Smiley LOL

The main reasons I haven't changed the ID is because after 30 days, no one will be able to find me by searching for my old ID (repeat customers are a really big part of my business, so I'm loathe to do anything that makes it more difficult for people to find me, even though my store name would remain the same and is more likely to be what people search for), and because I've seen more than a few threads on the boards where members seem to think a user ID change is somehow suspicious, even though nothing on the account changes in anyway except the name, and ID history can be displayed via the feedback profile. 

Eventually, I'll probably just go 'stuff it', and change the ID, probably during a peak time so that as many people as possible might notice the change.