potential buyer wants my mobile number

reic.l1
Community Member

I'm pretty new to selling on ebay and I have had two requests from potential bidders wanting my mobile number. Both requests were made 2-5 days before the auction ends. I'm wondering if I should do this? I've been really quick to respond to questions on the eBay message system, so I'm wondering why they would want my mobile? Also, I'm uncomfortable giving my number to people I don't know, who may not be buyers. Any advice would be much appreciated, thanks.

Message 1 of 11
Latest reply
10 REPLIES 10

Re: potential buyer wants my mobile number

Others who respond here may have more information, but I would say do not provide your phone number to bidders.  And you are right to question this.  Any questions or information they ask related to each item you list should actually go through the eBay messages.  It is clear from your listings where you are located and you have indicated pick up where applicable.  I would message back to any bidders or potential bidders to just message you with any questions.

Sometimes members may wish to attempt to deal with you on an item outside of ebay, which is against the rules.

Once a pick up auction or sale has ended, phone numbers & address details can be exchanged.

Message 2 of 11
Latest reply

I fully agree with Cathy. Always best to have a written record of communication (via ebay messages). Once you start mixing it with phone calls the game of he said, she said comes into play and you can be accused of saying anything (especially if the buyer has an alternate motive, like getting a freebe).

Message 3 of 11
Latest reply

My bet is they want to offer you less on one or more of your items.

The conversation will go like this:

I'm interested in item X (which you may have listed for eg $30). I'll offer you $15 if I can come around right now to collect it.

-------------------

Don't do it.