hi there, im new to ebay and i just got my first invoice i couldnt believe how much fee,s ebay take

is it worth selling here on ebay?  whats best  buy now or auction?  i just cant believe the fee,s  on auction a dress only sold for 4.75  total ebay fee,s 3.00  please help?

Message 1 of 8
Latest reply
7 REPLIES 7

hi there, im new to ebay and i just got my first invoice i couldnt believe how much fee,s ebay take

You have sold 43 items since mid October. Check in account what the fees are for.

eBay fees are 10.9% including postage, so on total invoice amount.

Best to start auctions at a price you are happy to sell at which should include fees.

That way it is free to sell on eBay.

image host
Message 2 of 8
Latest reply

Ebay fees are much better than paying rent on a shop.  The only fees I really object to are those on postage.  What I do, is pay the fees as I sell, so at the end of the day, if I sell $100 worth of goods, I go into Account Summary and pay Ebay their fees (One time payment) and then I go back into Paypal and take whatever is left for me.  That way you dont have a large monthly bill to pay and it isnt such a shock.

Good Luck!

Message 3 of 8
Latest reply

imastawka
Honored Contributor

Maybe it's the $1.65 for the auction fee that bumped it up.

https://www.fees.ebay.com.au/feeweb/feecalculator

Start your auctions higher to cover this fee.

Or do BIN for a price you are happy to accept. 

Message 4 of 8
Latest reply

It's a bit of a shock sometimes. All those little amounts add up into one big amount.

Everyone is right though, you do need to tack on about 15%, from my experience so far,  to cover eBay and PayPal fees.

The cost of doing business and making your items readily available to buyers - pass it on.

Good luck.

Melina.

Message 5 of 8
Latest reply

I see you have dumped the store and gone with auctions. Not necessarily smart. Clothes are a dime a dozen, so you're not going to get many bidding wars. Especially with no measurements.