Advice on purchasing from Alibaba to sell on eBay

Hi everyone

My question is actually on buying from Alibaba, I am new to Alibaba and importing.

I have found an item I would like to import into Australia to sell on eBay

The total order is around $4000, as a first timer I am understandably hesitant about transferring this amount of money into someone’s bank account in China.

I can see that this supplier has been on Alibaba for 11 years, I cant imagine they would make it this far if they were ripping people off.

Anyway, I would love the opinion of a few experience importers as to weather I should do business with this supplier.

Thanks in advance,

Michael

Message 1 of 21
Latest reply
20 REPLIES 20

You don't actually buy from Alibaba, they are mainly a 'middle man' connecting suppliers with buyers.

As long as the company you purchase from has a Gold rating, much like high feedback on eBay, you should be as safe as anyone else buying from China.

Don't forget you may be competing with the same suppliers selling on eBay so have a good business plan and use Google to learn more.

Message 2 of 21
Latest reply

imastawka
Honored Contributor

A bit more research wouldn't go astray.

Your id hasn't sold for 6 months?

Ebay may restrict your sales to 20 listings.

And Paypal will hold your money for 21 days

Also,  importing $4000 worth of goods, I think you have to pay GST on that lot.

Depending on what you're importing, also customs fees may be charged.

Someone else may know more,  or correct me

Message 3 of 21
Latest reply

Only use Paypal or credit card payments with suppliers on Alibaba, do not use direct payment, as there are scamers on that site as well, google the supplier see if any reviews as well, tread carefully.best to try a small sample first, before making a large layout a grand is a lot to lose.

Message 4 of 21
Latest reply

@imastawka wrote:

A bit more research wouldn't go astray.

Your id hasn't sold for 6 months?