How to stop sellers from overseas faking Australian stock

jabl4815
Community Member

So I am new to Ebay (Yeah I know right LOL) already 3 times I have had sellers claiming australian stock. only to be given chinese shipping company tracking numbers. or sellers using dropship tracking.

So I am wondering how they got around this. I spoke to Australia Post about this. They told me how they do this. They send Australia post a message saying they intend to enter a package into the system. 
I asked australia post howthey can get around this. and they said. that they need to have overseas postage companies need unique Identifyers. 
so if package comes from the UK they have a unique code in front of the tracking 

so if this package was in australia 
it would be
PPF100987 

If it came from the UK it should have 
08PPF100987 

that way when a seller enters this onto ebay tracking  to show Ppal and the buyer that the package is moving. Ebay's api would realize this and start action. 
Thats how you can help local/national ebay purchasing. work with mail companies to issueunique identifier codes 

Message 1 of 5
Latest reply
4 REPLIES 4

Here at eboy,  we take your thought bubbles seriously.   I has been actioned and suitably filed.

Oh Sorry, not the real ebay here.

Message 2 of 5
Latest reply

As has been said in the many other threads about this, on the buying board, where this will also probably end up, there are some precautions YOU can take.

When you check the seller's feedback (as you surely do before any purchase) there is a section which shows where the seller is registered. If they are registered in China, there is a better than even chance that the item is coming from China. Some Chinese sellers do keep stock in Australia, but the majority don't.

Message 3 of 5
Latest reply

You can't stop them because eGay doesn't care where they are from, as long as the $$$ keeps rolling in.