$1 item including postage?

Hi there, I am new to eBay selling. I was just doing some research lately and notice a few low-cost items that are selling for $1 including postage within Australia. How is that even possible without making a loss since the cheapest postage Australia Post do is $1? I thought this might a loss leader item for the seller but eBay is saying the seller has sold thousands of these items.

Any ideas?

Message 1 of 14
Latest reply
13 REPLIES 13

Most of those types of items come from China where the postage is heavily subsidised by their government. Just because an item says it is in Australia, doesn't actually mean that it is. Chinese sellers are notorious for mis-representing their item locations. You need to look at their seller feedback as the negatives will often complain about shipping from China.

Message 2 of 14
Latest reply

@jellybirddesigns wrote:

Most of those types of items come from China where the postage is heavily subsidised by their government. Just because an item says it is in Australia, doesn't actually mean that it is. Chinese sellers are notorious for mis-representing their item locations. You need to look at their seller feedback as the negatives will often complain about shipping from China.

That's not true, this particular seller has 99.7% positive ratings over almost 4000 ratings. Reviews verified the shipping is from within Australia.

Message 3 of 14
Latest reply

Can you post the full title of one of th items you are talking about please?

It might give us some ideas as to how the seller can do this.

Message 4 of 14
Latest reply

@lyndal1838 wrote:

Can you post the full title of one of th items you are talking about please?

It might give us some ideas as to how the seller can do this.

Try "SIM Card Adapter Kit 4 in 1 Nano Micro Standard Size Converter Tray for iPhone"

Message 5 of 14
Latest reply

Beats me.

They're actually losing over 40c per item, what with Paypal flagall, fvf's as well as paying postage.