How Environmentally Friendly is your Business?

Hey guys,

I hope you are all well and surviving the economic challenges.

I had my first 'complaint' recently about my packaging materials which is the first time I have come across this. My background is in packing very fragile items so I admit I do possibly overpack items to ensure safe transit. So in the last few days I received a message from a buyer saying thanks for their delivery but they were disappointed with the use of bubble wrap and the amount used.

I admit we do pack items really well, so they have a point. However, we source all out bubble wrap from a local business that has previously used the bubble wrap so it is clean but used so that they don't have to dispose of it or recycle it. I know you cannot please everyone, and many buyers comment on the excellent packaging and we do try to use previously used clean cardboard as much as possible too. But I wonder if you have ever had this feedback, or how you navigate this issue? I know there are now more environmentally friendly packing materials but as a small seller, we have tried to keep costs down and also trying to re-use where we can.

Any thoughts? The buyer was OK, and has not actually given feedback yet as it was through messages. We did respond and outlined the above, but the buyer has not replied. Appreciate any constructive thoughts.

Message 1 of 16
Latest reply
15 REPLIES 15

Re: How Environmentally Friendly is your Business?

Majority of my packaging is recycled. All my boxes I get from work. Same with bubble wrap and packing peanuts. Although, I did buy a few rolls of bubble wrap from Bunnings a couple of years ago when they had rolls on their specials table for 10c a roll. It would have been morally wrong to leave them there!