How do I send a WATCH in the mail?

artforartssake
Community Member

What is the QUICKEST and SAFEST way to send an expensive WATCH (value: approx. $1,000) through the mail?

Do I need any sort of insurance or does Aust Post cover that?

Photobucket
Message 1 of 24
Latest reply
23 REPLIES 23

Re: How do I send a WATCH in the mail?

Better pack it well.

Aus Post recommend packing that will withstand something weighing

20 kilos being dropped from a height of 1 metre onto it

I can see both buyer and seller crying here

Message 11 of 24
Latest reply

@artforartssake wrote:

Thanks, but if I do as Digital suggests, do I still need to go into an AP outlet to buy the posting box?

Do I then just print off the label and stick it on the box with sticky tape? And then do I need to go into the AP outlet again to hand it in over the counter (wouldn't want to drop it into a box as it may break on the way down!)

Excuse my ignorance, but I've never done "click and send" before via self-service!

You don't need to buy a box, see if the local supermarket or Bunnings has a sturdy box, or even the local spare parts place. That said, to buy a single box as a one off shouldn't cost that much. They might be cheaper if you have an Officeworks rather than the PO. Just make sure it's sturdy and not something like a shoe box or cereal box (while I've had stuff delivered in and they get squashed).

I post quite a bit of fragile stuff and the secret is to make sure there is no dead space in the box. If the watch is in a box, I'd pack some packing peanuts or tissues (as in Kleenex) inside the watch box so the watch can't move at all if you shake it. Then wrap it in some paper (e.g printing paper) and tape it closed so the lid can't open (if it's a plastic watch box you could just tape the box closed as the tape would peel off easily enough.).