New seller, items not selling

I have listed some vintage  items for around 3 weeks.  There have been views on some of the items, one or two wirh none.  I have had no sales and I have made sure I am selling close to or abit less than similar items.  I do not know why I have not sold anything, I put a lot of work into selecting items, photographs and listing.  I would appreciate some advice from sellers of similar items

Message 1 of 28
Latest reply
4 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions

Re: New seller, items not selling

I don't sell vintage items, but as a rule you are unlikely to get sales in the first month, especially if you are a new seller.

Happily I sold a couple of items I had listed for 12 years the other day.

View solution in original post

Message 2 of 28
Latest reply

@thriftandtweed wrote:

I am not experienced in pricing or selling, but I will take on board your advice.  I try to find good quality items that I would personally have in my home.

When pricing an item you need to consider amongst other things.

Your purchase price

Ebay fee's on sale

Postage

Packaging

Your profit.

Possibly other costs,  but depends how far you want to take it,

I have some mugs and I pay between $7 to $10.07 for postage (roughly),  I use Australia Post, and due to sales volume have lower postage rates, but I am guessing you will be paying $10.60, so anything under $10.60 for you will be a loss.

Message 7 of 28
Latest reply

My input may not seem helpful. You have chosen a VERY competitive market in which to list; but then I guess all eBay categories are very competitive. If you search for Vintage in Collectables for example, there are well over 1 million listings. Half a million for Home and Garden – anyway, you get the picture. Frankly it is amazing we ever sell anything.