Paypal payments pending / on hold :/

Hi, as of yesterday paypal are now placing payments to me 'on hold' due to 'higher than usual risk'. Not sure if it was my increased selling volume lately or the fact I sold a Samsung Phone, but the next payment after that for a computer part was also held.The emails hint that it will be 7 days, yet after logging in it seems the release date is 21 days away!

I assume everything from now on until some arbitrary time when they 'trust' me again will be held, which is going to cause massive cashflow issues for me as this time next week I'll have probably another $800 on top of the $500 I was paid last night. If anything, I don't want to take the risk of selling any more now as who knows if their coinflip will determine that I'm entitled to my own money? Do I keep pumping thousands of dollars into a void hoping for the best?

Will calling paypal achieve anything? I've been using paypal for probably almost 10 years on the same account and not sure there is any of my ID that they don't already have on file.

Message 1 of 31
Latest reply
30 REPLIES 30

It looks like you have recently started selling again?

All new sellers even if you have sold in the past will have their money put on hold for 21 days which really sucks.

You will need to prove to ebay that you're not a risk so I'm afraid it will be up to 90 days of sales and over 50 feedbacks needed from those sales before your money stops being held.

You can contact the FOS and get them to look into it but I know of people that had no such luck and just have to bare it.

The worst part about it will be that you will still have to pay fees so if you sell $$$$ and don't get it released then you have to pay out of your own pocket.

I feel for every new seller on ebay and it's a shame that past transactions don't count for anything.

All the best

Message 2 of 31
Latest reply