A lesson on overcharging on postage

I’ve been selling online for 15 years, I have never deliberately overcharged on postage and if my postage quote was higher than the actual postage, I have always refunded. Postage is postage is postage, it’s not up to sellers to add costs to postage ie: packing, eBay and PayPal fees or as I’ve seen petrol costs to drive to the PO. I was overcharged $11.70 on postage, postage quoted $20, postage on parcel $8.30. Item was damaged because she didn’t box it as she said she would. Everyone told me “good luck getting that back, PayPal won’t give a partial refund for postage” Well.....PayPal did give me the refund, I sent PayPal screen shots of the messages between the seller and I where the seller states “eBay policies allow me to add costs to postage to cover my costs” wrong thing to write. eBay and PayPal do not allow sellers to add their eBay or PayPal fees to the postage, that goes against their polices. PayPal is starting to enforce this now and I recieved my refund last night. The seller is lucky I didn’t send the item back for a full refund, fair is fair. Add all costs to the item your selling, not to postage. I hope this stands as a lesson 

Message 1 of 25
Latest reply
24 REPLIES 24

@ljhosking wrote: