DVDs as large letters in bubble mailers

Hi all

I've been selling DVDs / games on eBay for several months now. I've sent most of my items as large letters by packing the DVD or game case into an Australia Post' Padded Mailer #1 (PM1); they're lined with bubble wrap on the inside and have a kind of plastic on the exterior. In probably over a hundred sales I've never had an issue with receiving some kind of notice telling me that I need to pay additional because it was above the 20mm width limit.

Well now I want to move over to cheaper packaging, when I realised how much more expensive AP charges for their packaging than tons of third party sellers on eBay do. Most of these cheap option have similar dimensions to the AP's padded mailers but they all have paper on the outside rather than plastic (eg https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/373012994456 ) and this makes them slightly thicker.

I've found some old posts that seem to suggest that many sellers use this style of packaging to send DVDs/games as large letters, and they've never had an issue with Australia Post saying they are greater than 20mm (even though, to my eye, they appear to be thicker!). To quell my anxiety, I wanted to ask on here afresh, and see if anyone has had any problems with doing so, or if people can confirm they also have never had any issues sending large letters in this way? Thanks!

Message 1 of 9
Latest reply
8 REPLIES 8

Re: DVDs as large letters in bubble mailers

All of the card / box style DVD mailers are 36 mm. thick so almost double Australia Posts legal limit for large letter. I'm not going to tell you what you should or shouldn't be doing, but I suspect the lack of responses to your post indicates most people aren't going to touch this one with a barge pole. ie. you are asking people to provide you with advice on how to act illegally and immorally.

Message 2 of 9
Latest reply

@chameleon54 wrote: