Sneeky Final Value & Shipping Fees increase to 10.9%

Don't know if anyone was made aware of the increase of the Final Value Sale and Final Value Postage has now increased to 10.9%

I have 3 different accounts and none have received any notification of fees increasing.

Another ripoff from eBay.  Sellers are the only reason eBay exists.  The way eBay keep leaning towards the Buyer almost makes selling here near impossible to make a profit.

Message 1 of 49
Latest reply
48 REPLIES 48

Re: Sneeky Final Value & Shipping Fees increase to 10.9%

@rosebudcottageantiques wrote:

Just saw that fees are now 10.9% .. I have been selling on eBay for many years and it was originally 2.9% !!

I too remember the old days of lower fees.  I also remember that I had to pay a listing fee on every listing even on unsold items, and I got one pic for free and had to pay 25 cents for any other pics, and you paid a fee to include a Buy-It-Now price on your listing, and you paid a fee for scheduling a listing to start at a future date, and the listing fee was increased if the starting price was increased, and the final value fee had a tiered structure which meant you paid much more in fees if your auction item reached a higher price i.e. 7.9% on amounts over $75 (from memory).

Bottom line is, as pointed out in a previous post on this thread, savvy sellers factor all the costs of doing business when setting their auction start price and P&H costs.  Those who don't will not make money and fall by the wayside.

Message 31 of 49
Latest reply

@davewil1964 wrote:

We are paying GST on eBay's FEES, not the postage, not the goods. eBay's FEES.

Have a look at your account.

There is a slight impost on postage FVF but it's not that significant:

500g parcel  $6.75

inc GST        $0.67 (included in purchase price)

Total             $7.42

eBay FVF     $0.70 (@ 9.5%)

added GST  $0.07

Total             $0.77