new seller after information

Hi,

I'm new to selling on ebay.

I listed an item as pickup only as it was too big/hard to post (large tent)

Had a buyer message me asking if it was complete ect? i replied saying yes.

Buyer then purchased the item.

After the purchase, i messaged the buyer and offered to deliver to them if they live close by, so they could set the tent up and test it before paying me. That way if they were not happy, we could cancle transaction.

They replied saying they lived on otherside of country. But also said they'll pay the extra for postage.

Just the length alone is 108cm which does not fit in aus post 105cm limit. I have a nagging feeling in back of mind... that i should just try cancle transaction. But if i do this, they can leave negative feedback? i only have 26 feedback, and 25 of them was as a buyer.

Now seeing as though it was listed as pickup only, would ebay remove neg feedback if it came to that?

Hopefully someone more experienced can give me some guidance?

regards,

Kieran

Message 1 of 6
Latest reply
5 REPLIES 5

Re: new seller after information

I'd cancel the sale via ebay customer service. They will confirm your right to do so and also log the issue.

It is not in your interest to meet such a buyer request , as it is unwanted work for you and opens up the chances of a dispute.

Message 2 of 6
Latest reply

Thank you for input. Yes that sums up what i'm feeling.

Message 3 of 6
Latest reply

As suggested cancel the sale but explain to the buyer first that you listed as pick up only for various reasons.

(No need to explain)

I wouldn't offer to deliver, better to have the buyer pick up for when you relist.

In the cancellation select 'something wrong with buyer's address'.

Then you don't get a defect.

Once the cancellation is done they won't be able to leave feedback.

image host
Message 4 of 6
Latest reply

Hello, kieramatthew0,